top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClayton Steward

Ballin' on a Budget

College life is synonymous with being broke. Trust me, every time I set foot back on campus, my wallet gets a little more thin and my bank account loses a few numbers. I have been challenging myself to spend less and less each week on groceries without sacrificing the quality of my meals. Two weeks ago I was able to spend $60 on groceries for the whole week. No that impressive but a start compared to the almost $100 or more I was spending last semester. This week I managed to get it down to around $50 and I was stoked about it.


Here's how I did it:

1) I planned out my meals for every meal, every day of the week. For one of the nights I even planned to eat out and another was leftovers night. Wow I'm really starting to get a hang of this "adulting" thing.

2) I. Made. A. List. Shocker, I know. Trust me I have tried to make lists before but yet I always end up with twice the amount I had in my basket or cart (or buggy if that's the terminology you use). This time I was determined to get only what was on my list.

3) I shopped at multiple stores. I knew what I could get for a good price at Walmart and went there first. The next day I went to Price Chopper, where I signed up for the Shopper Rewards Card (Highly recommend this!) and bought some more of the items I knew I could get for a good price. The last stop on my map towards saving is a small farmers market 5 minutes outside of town and 10 minutes away from my campus. Here I know I can get really good prices on locally grown fruits and vegetables, which ends up cutting my costs for the week even more.


I hope to get my bill lower and lower by looking for sales, buying in bulk and sticking to the list!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Welcome!

bottom of page